Minimum Wage Attorney
The minimum wage in Massachusetts is set under Chapter 151, Section 1 of the Massachusetts General Laws. It applies all employees except those being rehabilitated or trained in charitable, educational, or religious institutions; members of religious orders; agricultural, floricultural, and horticultural workers; those in professional service; and outside salespersons not reporting to or visiting their office daily.
The minimum wage increases according to the following schedule:
- January 1, 2015: $9/hour
- January 1, 2016: $10/hour
- January 1, 2017: $11/hour
Waiters, bartenders, and service employees are entitled to a minimum wage of $3/hour.
An employer who fails to pay the minimum wage in Massachusetts is in trouble. Not only can the Massachusetts Attorney General take criminal action against them, but the employer may also be liable to the employee for mandatory triple damages, costs and attorney fees.