Not Getting Minimum Wage in Massachusetts?
If you have looked at your paystubs and compared what you earn to the amount you are paid, and it turns out that you weren’t being paid at least $8.00 per hour, your employer might be breaking the law.
This sometimes happens if an employer forces you to work “off the clock.” Just because the employer forced you to clock out, it doesn’t mean that they don’t have to pay you for all the hours you worked, and it doesn’t mean that they don’t have to pay at least minimum wage. (In fact, in most cases, it’s illegal for an employer to make you work off the clock.)
Other times, an employer might pay a weekly salary but then require you to work more hours than you initially agreed to. No matter what salary you agreed to, if you divide your pay by the number of hours and you don’t get at least $8.00 per hour, your employer is not paying the minimum wage and is probably violating Massachusetts law.
There might be other instances where an employer is taking advantage of an employee and not paying minimum wage. The possibilities are probably limitless.
What can you do if you are not being paid minimum wage of at least $8.00 per hour? A lot. Our office may be able to represent you at no cost. The “wage and hour” laws say not only that your employer can’t retaliate against you or fire you for requesting that you be paid for all your work, but the laws also say that your attorney fees and court costs have to be paid by the employer if you win.
If you think you might not be being paid minimum wage, please contact our office for a free case evaluation.
[hr style=”1″ margin=”15px 0px 15px 0px”]
Culik Law is a Massachusetts Attorney / Law Firm. The posts on Culik Law’s blog are not intended as legal advice. If you have questions about your particular situation, CONTACT CULIK LAW for a Free Consultation.