Are You Being Paid What You’re Owed? Wage and Overtime Rights in Massachusetts
You probably already know that employers are required to fully compensate employees for all wages that have been earned. But what you may not know is that employees are often not paid everything they are entitled to. This may include things like overtime (even for some salaried employees), sick pay, severance pay, and additional pay for working on some holidays.
The minimum wage in Massachusetts for most employees is $8 per hour. Even though the federal minimum wage is $7.25, employers in Massachusetts must pay the higher rate of at least $8 per hour. If an employer fails to pay this amount, it may be subject to triple damages under the Massachusetts wage and hour statute. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 151.
If an employee has worked more than 40 hours per week, he or she is entitled to be paid 1.5 times the hourly rate for those additional hours. This requirement, however, does not apply to some salaried administrative and professional workers.
Under what are called the Blue Laws, some employers in the retail industry are required to pay premium wages working on Sundays and certain holidays, such as Christmas, New Year’s Day, Columbus Day, Thanksgiving, Veterans Day, the Fourth of July, Memorial Day, and Labor Day.
Additionally, most manufacturers, mechanical establishments, and mercantile establishments are required to provide employees with a full day off after every seven days of work.
We provide a free consultation for cases involving the above laws, which are generally called wage and hour laws. In most cases, we can handle these types of cases with at no cost to you. Contact us to set up your free consultation.