What to Do if Your Employer Doesn’t Pay You Overtime
There are strict laws in Massachusetts about when employees must be paid overtime. Employees have to be paid overtime in the amount of 1.5x their regular hourly rate for each our above 40 hours per week. For example, if someone earns $10.00 per hour and works 50 hours in a week, that person must be paid $15.00 per hours for 10 of those hours. (There are some types of employees – executives, professionals, and some other types – that do not have to be paid overtime.)
Although employees in Massachusetts do not have to be paid extra for nights or weekends, some retailers must pay extra for Sundays and holidays.
What can an employee do if he or she is not paid the overtime that he or she is legally entitled to? A private attorney, such as our office, may be able to take your case at no cost. The Massachusetts overtime laws require that if your attorney can prove your case in court, you are entitled to have your attorney’s fees paid by the employer. As a penalty to the employer for breaking the law, you are also entitled to three times the amount that the employer failed to pay you.
Also, employees are often concerned that if they assert their rights, they might lose their jobs. But Massachusetts prohibits employers from retaliating and can be fined for retaliating against employees.
So if you think you aren’t being paid the overtime that you worked for, we may be able to help. Contact Culik Law for a no-cost consultation.
[hr style=”1″ margin=”15px 0px 15px 0px”]
Culik Law is a Massachusetts Attorney / Law Firm. The posts on Culik Law’s blog are not intended as legal advice. If you have questions about your particular situation, CONTACT CULIK LAW for a Free Consultation. (CulikLawReviews)